The Quest for Non-Toxic Deodorant

deodorant1

 

Many moons ago I first heard about the dangers of deodorants that contain aluminum-based antiperspirants. It’s suspected that they can be linked to cancer and other illnesses. Whether or not these rumors are actually true, I like to avoid health hazards as much as possible, so I decided to go on the hunt for an all-natural deodorant. Since then, I’ve tried many different styles and brands. Some irritated my sensitive skin, some flat out didn’t work, and a few emerged victorious from amongst their brethren! Oh sorry, is my post about underarm hygiene getting too dramatic? I’ll try to tone it back…

Let’s talk about the misses first. The ones that absolutely failed in their appointed duties were the Crystal ones, both liquid and crystal, and the Fresh and Natural Deodorant Spray (couldn’t find a link, but I bought it at Marshalls.)

The mediocre category is comprised of the Jason Tea Tree Deodorant and the Schmidt’s Bergamot and Lime. To be honest, I didn’t give the Jason one much of a try, because I wasn’t fond of the scent and my sister told me it didn’t work for her. I may go back and give this one another go at some point.

The Schmidt’s deodorant gets rave reviews from a lot of people, but it irritated my skin because of the high levels of baking soda and the firm, slightly gritty texture. The scent is fabulous and I wish I could get in a perfume. If you have less sensitive skin and don’t mind having to scoop it out of a jar and apply it with your hands, I think this is a great option!
deodorant2

On to the final four! The Nourish Organic deodorant in the scent Lavender Mint mostly makes it to this category for the pretty packaging and the delicious lavender, chocolate minty smell. What I dislike about this one is that it is pretty greasy and leaves oily patches on your clothes. Lame.

The Arm & Hammer Essentials is the first thing I tried in the semi-natural, non-antiperspirant realm. It does what it’s supposed to, and has a nice clean, citrus scent. It does contain baking soda, but not as much as the Schmidts.

The Tom’s Lavender deodorant is my second favorite. It’s a really gentle formula, but it still works really well. It smells like lavender, obviously.

My top pick, however, is the LaVanila Healthy Deodorant. I bought the travel sized version from Sephora in the Pure Vanilla scent and liked it enough to go back and buy a full size, but in the Vanilla Lemon scent. My advice is to skip the travel size. The texture was way more crumbly and made a huge mess of the inside of the tube. The full size is more expensive than your average deodorant, but it is the most effective all-natural option I have found. I mean, this stuff will keep me smelling fresh through a hot summers day or a work out, y’all. Also, both scents I’ve tried are amazing. The Pure Vanilla is warm, cozy and feminine, and the Vanilla Lemon is clean, bright, and a little more unisex/masculine, in the best way.

Do any of you have any suggestions for non-toxic deodorants? I’m always ready to try a new one in the name of science!

– Niki

3 thoughts on “The Quest for Non-Toxic Deodorant

  1. I’ve used the LaVanilla one before. I liked it but I just don’t like how much I sweat when wearing more natural deodorants. One full size deodorant lasted me a really long time so it made it worth the price.

    Like

  2. Hi Niki,
    I’ve been wanting to switch to a natural deodorant for a while, but am far to lazy to actually do the work and figure out what is effective. Your post solved that problem! Whoo-hoo! Thanks for your chivalrous foray into the dark world of deodorants and the miasma of choices to bring forth only the most worthy for consideration. Also, I think one can never be two dramatic about deodorants. ; )
    Take Care!
    – Aurora

    Like

Validate us. Leave a comment.

