Our Summer Bucket Lists

haystack rockHere in the Pacific Northwest, it usually doesn’t start to feel like summer until after the 4th of July. But it’s 90 degrees  in Portland today, so I’ve finally realized that it’s time to get into that summery state of mind! Being a grown up, I no longer have a summer break to look forward to, but that won’t stop me from trying to make fun plans!  Here are some of the things I’m looking forward too this summer!

To Do:

Go to the beach! The Oregon Coast calls to me!

Make a stick biscuit. You haven’t truly experienced campfire cooking until you’ve wrapped canned biscuit dough around a large stick, roasted it to perfection and filled it with butter and jam. Yum! It’s a camping must!

Host a pool party, complete with cheesy but fun games (Marco Polo, anyone?) and a beach-y playlist!

To Read:

The Space Trilogy by C.S. Lewis. I have a secret love for science fiction, and when it’s filled with deep theological meaning, well, what could be better?

To Decorate:

I have found my dream couch. It’s from Ikea, of all places. Now I just have to see if I can convince my room mate (AKA my brother) to go in on it with me. Maybe if I emphasize how much more comfortable it is than our current couch…To Wear:

I like to wear tank tops in the summer to avoid the whole farmer’s tan phenomenon. Currently, I’m contemplating this one (linen!) and this one (cheaper alternative!) from Everlane. Also drooling over this one from Anthropologie. Why must it be so expensive?

To Make:

There are so many sewing projects I want to work on, but this one is at the top of my list! I have visions of it being the perfect summer dress! I already bought the fabric (it’s a drapey black and white abstract print from Joanns) and now I just have to download the lovely pattern and actually sew it up!

What’s on your summer bucket list?

– Niki

This is summer is a lot of firsts for we Joneses! Our first full summer married, our first summer in our apartment, our first summer being awesome…oh, wait, no, we’ve always been awesome. Heh heh. With all of these firsts happening, it really makes me want to pack as many  special memories into every moment! Here is what’s at the top of my list:

To Do:

Going swimming, at least once a week is a must for this girl.

To Read:

I’m working on ‘The Hunger Games’ right now, which is remarkably better than I expected. I was afraid to jump on the ‘Hunger Games’ band wagon, mostly because I thought it’d be another tacky, tweenage fantasy. It’s not.

To Decorate:

I’m on the hunt for the perfect area rug for my living room! Something like these.

rug 2 rug 3

To Wear:

I love dresses. Is there anything more comfortable on hot summer days? I think not. This cute, simple dress looks like the easiest thing ever. I’m also loving this one.

To Make:

I’m working on creating a mismatched set of dining room chairs, all painted dark navy! I just need to find one more chair. Wish me luck!

– Bekah

Validate us. Leave a comment.

