No Shampoo?

jars

Every now and then I have to stop and seriously consider the question “Am I a hippie?” I asked myself this when I decided to stop using shampoo. I read a bunch of articles on the internet about the benefits of  giving up shampoo. People were boasting healthier, shinier locks that didn’t need to be washed as often, not to mention the monetary savings. That all sounded fabulous, so I decided to give it a go. I switched to using baking soda and vinegar to clean my hair. That’s right, the same ingredients as we’ve all used to make volcanoes in our homeschool science classes.  My hair is just as clean as it was when I was using shampoo and I’m keeping all the harsh chemicals in traditional shampoo away from my hair, which is good (in my opinion).

So how do you use baking soda as shampoo?  I like to put about a tablespoon in a plastic cup and then take that into the shower with me. I fill the cup with about a cup water and stir the baking soda in with my fingers then pour it over my head. I scrub my scalp then rinse. You can keep a bottle of vinegar (apple cider or white) in the shower as well. Mix about a tablespoon of vinegar into a cup or so of water then pour this over your hair. I pour some over the ends of my hair first, then pour the rest over my scalp. You can let this sit for a few minutes or rinse it out right away. If you rinse thoroughly, you shouldn’t notice any vinegar smell after your hair dries.

– Niki

hair

I’m serious, guys,  Niki is a crazy hippie! Run for your lives!!!!!!! Ha ha….sigh…okay, I’m kidding. She’s not crazy, or even that much of a hippie….(a whole lot of hipster, though, don’t tell her I said that!) and she smells great…..I like to steal her perfume, but that’s a story for another day. Heh heh.

So, you can trust her, as I do. I am, admittedly, a little more of a loose cannon, but you can trust me too. (and THEY never heard from you again…dun dun dun) With that said…. I too jumped on the ‘no shampoo’ band wagon. Honestly, I’ve been a doubter for years. I gave it a weak, halfhearted attempt a few years ago, but at the time, I was washing my hair on a daily basis, which was not very healthy for me, or my hair. Since then, I’ve switched to washing my hair two to three times a week, using baking soda as shampoo, and apple cider vinegar as conditioner. I started just last week, but it’s already made a big difference. My hair is staying cleaner longer, which is a huge deal for me, and has more volume all the time (which, is my main goal for my thin hair). I still use this dry shampoo to touch up extra greasy spots on the days I don’t wash it, but not nearly as much as when I was using traditional shampoo.

So far, I’m loving all the benefits of this method, and would definitely recommend it!

–  Bekah

Validate us. Leave a comment.

