Chocolate Birthday Cake Milkshake

IMG_9478 edit

Here in Portland, It’s Spring!!!! (Cue the ‘Spring’ song from ‘Seven Brides for Seven Brothers’) I couldn’t be happier about it if I was a….now I’m trapped in my metaphor with no where to go…all I can think of is ‘prune’, but that doesn’t make sense…clam! Happy as a clam. People say that, right? “Of course, right!” (Cue ‘Matchmaker’ from Fiddler on the Roof! I’m in an old musical mood today, I guess…my husband is so lucky) And I am so lucky because my aforementioned husband’s mother, from here are on out we will affectionately refer to her as ‘my M.I.L’ is a genius….or at least super dedicated to scouring the recipe section of Pinterest. I tend to think “Genius” and “dedicated Pinterest user” tend to go hand in hand, so yeah.

Ahem. So, supposedly, my M.I.L made this amazing milkshake for a birthday party for my youngest siblings-law this weekend, but I really think it’s because she loves me so much.

Chocolate Birthday Cake Milkshake!!!

You will need:

– A sturdy blender

– An ice cream scoop.

-Chilled glasses, or canning jars. Put them in the freezer a few hours before hand.

Ingredients:

This is really so simple. Are you ready for this?

– 4 Scoops of your favorite chocolate ice cream.

– 1 tsp. Vanilla extract

– Milk, just enough to blend smoothly, about 1/4 cup.

– 1/4 to 1/2 Chocolate Cake Mix, depending on how ‘cakey’ you want it to taste.

Directions:

Put all ingredients in the blender and blend until it looks like a chocolate frosty. If it doesn’t pour easily, add a little more milk and blend a bit longer. Swish the blender a little bit using your highly professional barista wrist twist, then, this is very important, taste it by dipping your finger directly into the milkshake. I repeat, very important! Heh heh heh.

*To make the very enviable sprinkled edge on the glasses, dip the top rim of your chilled glass in a pool of honey, then dip in a pool of sprinkles.

Finally, pour your milkshake in glass!

Pour into chilled glasses, and enjoy with someone you love…or who loves you…like my M.I.L loves me, clearly.

IMG_9449This is Kirby. Kirby doesn’t get any Chocolate Birthday Cake Milkshake because he doesn’t have a M.I.L who loves him….just kidding. Kirby doesn’t get any because chocolate is bad for dogs. Very true.

Enjoy!

– Bekah

One thought on “Chocolate Birthday Cake Milkshake

Validate us. Leave a comment.

